The Superior Court, in the Chattahoochee Judicial Circuit that consists of Harris, Chattahoochee, Muscogee, Marion, Talbot, and Taylor counties, is the highest-ranking court in the county with original and general trial jurisdiction. This court, consisting of Superior Court Judges elected by the voters for four year terms, has original, exclusive, or concurrent jurisdiction of all civil, criminal, misdemeanor, and certain juvenile cases. Specifically, the Superior Court has exclusive jurisdiction in felony and domestic relation cases, cases concerning title to land, adoptions except for such authority granted to juvenile courts, and equity cases. The elected Superior Court judges also conduct probation revocation hearings and validates voter approved bond issues. The Superior Court possesses appellate jurisdiction from judgements of the Probate Court and Magistrate Court and this court is empowered to exercise general supervision over all inferior courts and to review and correct their judgments. The Superior Court also appoints Juvenile Court Judges to hear juvenile cases.

102 North College Street
P.O. Box 528
Hamilton, GA 31811

Office Hours
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Stacy K. Haralson, Clerk of Superior Court,
706-628-4944 (Main Number and Deed Room)
706-628-7705 (Juror Reporting Information)
706-628-7039 (Fax)

Superior Court Judges
Gil McBride
Frank Jordan
Bobby Peters
William Rumer
Arthur Smith, III
Maureen Gottfried
Ron Mullins

Juvenile Court Judges
Joey Loudermilk
Warner Kennon

Chattahoochee Judicial Court Administrator
Ed Berry
308 10th Street
Columbus, GA 31901

Department Stats
Part-Time: 11
FY 2017-18 Budget: $385,576